Art from my Mentor Program

Newberry

coy.jpg

This is a A J Nesselrod oil painting completed about 10 days ago in my Art Mentor Program in Santa Monica, its oil on panel, 12 x 24 inches. A J is tall guy, about 6' 5, lives about an hour away with his wife and kid, is about 40, conservative, and covered in tattoos.

A J replies to several responses to a facebook post:

Thank you all for the kind words. I'm a beginning painter, and this was my first painting under the mentorship of Michael. I feel incredibly fortunate to have the opportunity to study under him. He took the time to explain color theory, and how it worked within my subject, as well as composition, movement, and unbelievably great techniques likes glazing and scumbling. I can't recommend his mentorship class enough. THANK YOU Michael!!!!!!!!

Amazing work. I had to look a second time to realize it wasn't a photo.

~ Shane

Amazing work. I had to look a second time to realize it wasn't a photo.

~ Shane

Yes - was most impressed with his work... most of those doing koi fail to really achieve the 'being under water' bit and keep a good perspective to the whole of the work - angling it instead of an overhead approach improves the sense of space [not that there is anything wrong with the overhead approach, only that I keep wanting to have it as a floor painting instead of on the wall]

coy.jpg

This is a A J Nesselrod oil painting completed about 10 days ago in my Art Mentor Program in Santa Monica, its oil on panel, 12 x 24 inches. A J is tall guy, about 6' 5, lives about an hour away with his wife and kid, is about 40, conservative, and covered in tattoos.