Hello

dougplumb

Hello,

I am new to objectivism and am here after a long search for moral philosophy that makes sense to me after recognizing that we are in a moral crisis. I have a blog at www.dougplumb.blogspot.com

My background in this subject matter is only in interest. I have never taken a philosophy course but I have read bits of Plato, Aristotle, Rousseau, Neitzche, Strauss as well as a few others. I didn't understand Strauss. I thought Neitzche was great and probably misunderstood by many who talk about him. Plato's Republic floored me - I didn't agree with the philosophy but the last book is amazing considering it was written over 2000 years ago. I liked Rousseau but found him a little over my head in terms of reading level. My favorite philosophic essay is "In Praise of Idleness" by Bertrand Russell.

I read about half of Fountainhead and got bored with it - I understand what Rand is trying to say here, I started reading Atlas Shrugged and am about halfway through. This is a GREAT book and has solidified what I have come to learn since 9/11 and dealing with the Law Society of Upper Canada. I came to know that the money system, legal system and the policing in our country is totally corrupt and exists for the sole purpose of robbing honest people and pass the loot onto the robber barons.