Which way to Galt's Gulch?

GerryShannon

Greetings one and all, I'm a 21-year old film student (hoping to excel in screenwriting), and have very recently become deeply interested in Ayn Rand's writings and hope to read as much as I can.

Something of a confession: The first thing that pointed me towards Objectivism was by way of my interest in comic books... particularly the work of artist Steve Ditko. I'd always been a fan of Ditko's work at Marvel Comics (such as with Spider-Man), and particularly after Jonathan Ross' documentary In Search of Steve Ditko, I was determined to track down some of Objectivist-slanted, independently produced work. I was particularly taken (and still am) with his Mr. A superhero-vigilante character. The stories often begin with Mr. A directly addressing the viewer at length in relation to a theme present in the story, and then this is explored throughout the story. Mr. A's true identity is that of Mr. Graine, a news reporter who is highly controversial and then dispenses justice to criminals he personally feels do not get their full, true punishment by the law. He dresses in a white suit and face mask, and often carries a gun. The stories then tend to end with Mr. A confronting the criminal in a meta-physical landscape that represents right and wrong. Of course, one of the character's phrases is "A is A." I'd recommend anyone here to pick up Blake Bell's recent The World of Steve Ditko coffee table hardback, that talks at considerable length, (at least how Blake percieves), the strong influence of Ditko's Objectivist beliefs on his work and career choices. If anyone knows of any study of Ditko's work within Objectivist-slanted literature, I'd greatly appreciate reading it.