Greetings from a Budd Lake Objectivist

eprime75

Hi there, Greetings from Budd Lake, NJ. I tried to post my greeting here last night but for some reason it didn't get through. Anyway, glad to make your accquaintance and hope to provide some stimulating and educational posts in the near future. Now, as to my Objectivist background, unlike most of you who discovered Ayn Rand an her philosophy during your high school or college years, I did not read any of her stuff until my late 40's, and I will be 57 next month. So my experience with Objectivism has been for only a decade or so. All I can say is this Objectivism is awesome. I wish that I had known about it sooner. Paul

• 4 months later...

Greetings all,

I am also 57 years old. I read all of Rand’s books long ago, in the late sixties and early seventies, when I was a college student in eastern Washington. I’ve had lots of experience debating her views, and I am still doing so on philosophy messageboards around the internet.

I have my own views now which are a combination of objectivism and existentialism. (I know Rand would disapprove. However, she was an original thinker, and I can’t be that way if I am just her unquestioning follower.) I call myself a Neo-Objectivist and have my own board on which I try to develop and defend my views.

I hope this board doesn’t mind if I also post here.

Bis bald,

Nick

Yes, "bis bald" literally means "'til soon". I lived in Germany for more than twenty years and had a German wife and a son with dual citizenship. Still, my German is not always grammatically correct. I'm still working on it.

bis spaeter,

Nick

I've posted one item in the creative writing forum, although it is really an autobiographical piece with a little story to it, a coming of age story.