Gary Johnson for President 2012

Gary Johnson is a fiscal conservative and social liberal who advocates ending the War on Drugs. He is an accomplished businessman, triathlete and two term Republican governor of New Mexico. I loved having him as governor when I was a New Mexico resident. If you want to know more, he has an interview in the April issue of Reason magazine.

Jim

Gary Johnson is a fiscal conservative and social liberal who advocates ending the War on Drugs. He is an accomplished businessman, triathlete and two term Republican governor of New Mexico. I loved having him as governor when I was a New Mexico resident. If you want to know more, he has an interview in the April issue of Reason magazine.

Jim

Here's the position I believe he endorses on the War on Drugs:

http://ouramericainitiative.com/issues/drugs.html

I disagree with this position in its justification. Re-legalizing marijuana (and all other currently illegal drugs) should not be a matter of whether the War on Drugs is failing or having unintended consequences. That's sort of like advocating freedom of speech because censorship has proven too expensive or unworkable at this time. I can just see would be censorship advocates saying, "If only we could make censorship work! But, alas! we must let people read, hear, or watch what they want." In other words, the position surrenders the principle -- that of the individual to choose to peacefully use whatever drugs she or he wants to without the government (or anyone else) coercively interfering -- on the alter of pragmatism.

By the way, the Reason interview is online at:

http://reason.com/archives/2001/01/01/americas-most-dangerous-politi