The Genius of Eric Hoffer

herculepoirot

After the Great Kiboshing of 1968, the Academic Associates Newsletter, affiliated with Nathaniel and Barbara Branden, published a favorable review (by BB as I recall); Rand never mentioned the book, and word was that People in New York found the review quite upsetting.

I have a small wondering if the longshoreman bit was a pose.

I'm not so sure. I think he honestly hated the New Left, and despised the idea of being an "intellectual". I believe somewhere he said something along the lines of "I'm not a intellectual I work for a living". He claimed to be much prouder of his work, and labor as I longshoreman because it was I sign of his labor. In my opinion he is the perfect example of a "working class Randian hero" if there ever was one. He was self educated, did his work and took pride in it, and wasn't afraid to challenge his supposed "superiors" in the Ivory Tower when he believed they where wrong. I think he personifies what the true "common man" is (not the future of our labor union controlled labor force, but the true men and women of the past who worked for a living not for a constant wage) and that is a man who takes pride in his work and has no time for such things as communism, because they love the fruit of there labors and know that they aren't "oppressed".

Unless a man has talents to make something of himself, freedom is an irksome burden. Of what avail is freedom to choose if the self be ineffectual? We join a mass movement to escape individual responsibility, or, in the words of the ardent young Nazi, "to be free from freedom." It was not sheer hypocrisy when the rank-and-file Nazis declared themselves not guilty of all the enormities they had committed. They considered themselves cheated and maligned when made to shoulder responsibility for obeying orders. Had they not joined the Nazi movement in order to be free from responsibility? - Eric Hoffer

The True Believer by Eric Hoffer

reviewed by Barbara Branden