Question about protecting those who cannot help themselves

clarkems

All,

While I am a newbie to the site I have been mulling over Objectivist philospohy and its application in day to day living for a number of years now.

I am considering the impact of being an objectivist living in a population of non-objectivists. In fact most of the public are not even aware of its existence. Of course a big screen production of "Atlas Shrugged" could go a long way to changing that. Even then I suppose the population will be far more polarized than apathetic on the issue after the release of the movie. (Expect unionist knee jerk reaction at least and perhaps left wing condemnation.)

I see Objectivist philosophy being intrinsically tied in with self esteem and rational living from an individual point of view. However I expect others I meet to be anywhere on the self-responsibility spectrum when I first meet them. So, in general in day to day living one needs to be able to deal with issues of others who do not live rationally.

I have seen writing where it is described that one can defend yourself if others, who are not living rationally, violate your rights. I agree, with the proviso of using rational thought to determine the degree of response. However the reverse situation is one that prevents me from making the jump from individual application to social application of the philospohy.

What about those who, for the reasons of : mental illness, physicall illness, lack of education, poor attitude development, cultural values, etc. cannot take responsibility for themselves, therefor being unable to live rationally? What if they are not even aware that they are not self-responsible?

One could take the extreme position that if they are not living rationally ( by whose definition and standards?) they lose their rights as an individual. That sets up some ugly "Big Brother" scenarios possible on grand scales where individual rights can be trampelled.