Introducing the Music forum

Michael Stuart Kelly

Rich Engle sent me an e-mail asking a pretty obvious question. Given that I was a professional musician for many years, that he was and the Roger Bissell was, why didn't we have a music section.

That was a good question.

Robert Jones and Ed Hudgins have been discussing beautiful music and there has even been a start at looking into the Joseph Schillinger music composition method.

So, here it is. Now we have a special place to discuss the music and musicians you like and why, including technical information. I will send the discussions about music in other sections over here.

Groovy.

:D

Michael

I see that while I was away at Beatlefest being totally immersed in music that I love, a new music forum was started on OL and only classical music is discussed. I'd like to see all types of music discussed. Robert and Roger gave wonderful talks on music at the summer seminar and they were about various types of music, popular, blues and jazz. We all are individuals with our own personal tastes in music we shouldn't have to defend our tastes because they are not Objectivist enough. People like what they like musicwise and should be free to talk about music we like here without the judgmental bullshit that we have sometimes seen. Please no classical versus popular or John versus Paul wars.

I know that I am not the only rock fan on Objectivist Living and that Ayn Rand has influenced rock bands such as Rush. Here are links to a couple of JARS articles on the topic by Chris Sciabarra:

Rand, Rush, and Rock

Rand, Rock, and Radicalism

I realize that Ayn Rand did not personally like rock music but that doesn't mean that we can't like it or talk about it on Objectivist Living. I know I'm not the only rocker here.

Let's Rock!

Kat