Writer or Philosopher?

mvir9

I thought I would start with a false alternative -- just for fun :)

My name is Virginia Murr and I adore writing as well as philosophy. I married young (19), had two wonderful little girls, then entered college after my youngest started kindergarten. It took 7 years, but I graduated last May with a B.A. in Philosophy (minor in English Literature).

Interestingly, it was Rand that changed my major from English to Philosophy. One of my professors in the Honors Program (Dr. Stephen Hicks) placed Atlas Shrugged on his syllabus, which I asked for before classes began. I read the book almost straight through (a few hours of sleep and caring for the kids were my only "interruptions"). On the first day of class, I approached my new professor and asked, "Who is this woman and what else has she written?" Little did I know that Dr. Hicks was an Objectivist who adored Rand's work as much, if not more than, I did! Within a year I switched majors and never looked back. Luckily for me, I learned more about writing from the Philosophy Department than I ever did in an English class.

Since then, I have become an avid reader of all things Randian. A number of Objectivists have also entered my radar, including David Kelley and Nathaniel Branden. As a matter of fact, I quoted Mr. Branden several times in my senior seminar project on The Philosophy of Sex (yes, it was a fun project).

When I'm not with my family, writing, or reading, I teach karate (I am a 6th degree black belt with almost 27 years of experience). Karate helps to keep this proud geek in shape :)