Critical READING (of any book)

JennaW

I figured I'd start this thread to ask others how they critically read a book, and since this forum centers on Objectivism, then specifically I'm asking how readers of Objectivist texts read critically.

I'm not a literature major, but I did take a year long course in which I could dissect three sentences and turn it into a three page paper; however I know that there may be more questions to be asked. Also, I did used to make slogans and study media so I do understand how language, tone, and semantics can be used in advertising, marketing, and artwork as well.

So, the questions that readers ask themselves are:

Charles Anderson writes:

As I read a book, I check all the facts the writer claims are true against my own knowledge. There may be some that I have no knowledge of, but generally there are enough that, if I do that, I can develop an assessment of the writer's judgment.

When I do not have independent knowledge of his description of the facts, I may look up those facts elsewhere or I may just file them away to be checked against future reading.

I also study the author's use of logic carefully. Many writers are clearly very irrational and unable to use logic correctly.

I also look for evaluative assessments. For instance, the writer might say that Jones does not know what he is talking about because Jones thinks people should exercise self-responsibility or some such argument. This argument means nothing to me if it reveals a wrong viewpoint.

I examine the author's assumptions and their plausibility or certainty. I look to see if he has made it clear that he has made an assumption.

I am also very wary of the argument from authority in many forms. If he says that Smith, the foremost authority on anthropology, says that all societies exhibit an abhorrence for incest, then I am not impressed, unless I know the work of Smith directly. Of course, I may know his work and find it frequently dubious.