Painting the Famous

Painting the Famous: a few exploits in a loony career

by Victor Pross

It’s fair to say that the art of caricature, or even more broadly speaking, the art of illustration doesn’t get its due respect among the artistic literati. It’s also fair to say that this snobbish attitude is disappearing in subtle increments as times moves on.

The layperson’s response to caricature art is even less predictable--more so than the artistic literati. I have been an artist for many years and I have experienced many various responses to my art. This has spanned the range of joyful appreciation or disconcerted confusion---even hostility. The more mild responses have been “Don’t you draw real people?” or “Why do you always draw this weird stuff?” to “What kind of acid trip are you on?”

These are remarks that can crush the heart of a sensitive artist. Of course, I retain my cool as the jovial bohemian emeritus. Luckily, an emotional balance is reached that tips the scale when most of the responses are “Wow, that’s amazing!” or “How much would you charge to paint a picture of me?” (Let’s face it; money is the highest form of flattery).

Even more exciting are the responses I receive at live showings of my works: “Do you have a book out that features your work?” It’s a question I hear from different people with increasing frequency. And it’s a question I hear from both common people and celebrities. I find it particularly flattering that so many people would consider my work as commercially viable to be featured in a book. In response, I am preparing Icons & Idols: A Portrait of Our Times. It’s a book that will encompass the makers and shakers of our times, the famous. It will feature both dead and living icons.