Liar, Liar, Binswanger's Pants on Fire

Neil Parille

A recent interview with Harry and Ben Bayer.  I'm not good at time stamping.  It starts at 46:20

Hi Ben,

Enjoyed the discussion, interesting anecdotes and observations.

I wanted to point out that Harry misrepresents Barbara's biography on her final meeting and phone call with Rand.  As Harry says, Rand and Barbara met in Rand's New York apartment in 1981.  According to Barbara, after the meeting, she sent Rand a letter stating that she was writing Rand's biography.  When Rand didn't respond, Barbara called her.  Rand refused to talk.  Barbara says she was certain that this was most likely due to Rand's disapproval of the prospective biography.  

Harry doesn't mention the letter and implies Barbara first sprang the idea of the biography in the phone call and asked for Rand's assistance.  He says Barbara claims that the final conversation was of a ""I'm sorry that things didn't work out" variety.  That's not what she writes.  (The existence of the post-meeting letter telling Rand about the biography is confirmed by Cynthia Peikoff in 100 Voices)

Feel free to share this with Harry.  I don't think he'd open one of my emails.

Regards,
Neil

Neil,

I watched the video from the point you indicated until the end.

I was fascinated by Binswanger's description of rationalism, which I normally call deducing reality from a principle. He called it deducing reality from castles in the sky or something like that.

He is able to describe the essence of rationalizing, and describe it well, but when I look at his writings, I find him constantly rationalizing.

A perfect example (and not--by far--the only one) is how he blanks out how much good Christianity brought to the world. How do you observe that in reality? Easy. Look at all the good people, including top geniuses, who are Christians. That's just in the present. Now look at them throughout history. Look at how much good they did.