Need advice, re: English teaching certificate

Ross Barlow

I need some advice that someone here may be able to give me.

I am thinking of taking a course here in Thailand to train me and give me a top certificate for teaching English here. TESOL/TEFL/TESL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages/ as a Foreign Lang./ as a Second Lang.). Several private educational institutions here provide such training, and I must choose one.

I know that I can easily get an English teaching job here just by being a native English-speaker with a BA degree. But I was never taught to teach English. I taught history, philosophy and social studies in the US at high school level for 10 years. It has been 40 years since I studied grammar, and I cannot explain it to anyone. My in-laws here are asking me about verb tenses I do not think I have ever heard of.

Taking this course would help me teach with much more comfort, and I never like to do anything half-ass. Also, the recognized quality of this certificate would give me optimal choice in a job search. I am picky and would like more flexible part-time work teaching adults that does not take me across Bangkok every day. (Long travel time through horrendous traffic = Hell. Short and/or aesthetically pleasing travel = Tranquility.) There are several language schools near the Chao Phraya River which I can easily reach by a short express boat trip, and the boat pier is a nice 1 km walk from home and next to my local temple.

I should choose a course and register by next week. They are intensive, and I am crossing my fingers hoping that my health can hold up for such a four week endurance test. I still have bad headaches on occasion and other health problems. The course will wipe me out, but I intend to take it.