Medicare/Medicaid Horror File

I was reading the comments following Paul Hsieh's editorial on pajamasmedia.com:

http://pajamasmedia.com/blog/health-care-r...al-health-care/

and thought it might be a good idea to start a "horror file" of government health care gone astray. This is a comment from that list. The poster didn't list his/her name, so I'm assuming he/she doesn't mind me lifting the comment.

Here is the comment:

I am a pediatric physical therapist. I routinely treat children with private insurance, Medicaid, and private pay. Medicaid coverage is so poor that my decision making process is markedly different for children on government health care, as I know they will receive a fraction of the services needed to best deal with their conditions. Children with severe neurological conditions(traumatic brain injury, cerebral palsy, spinal cord injury) are routinely denied treatment that any other insurance provider would deem necessary. Private health care companies pay for these treatments as they recognize the connection between improved health/ mobility/ independence and reduced lifetime health costs. Medicaid does not. Wisconsin Medicaid is particularly nonsensical. Everyone, including young children, have 35 lifetime physical therapy visits. Once they are gone, you can apply for more sessions, but in nearly all cases treatment is denied. Examples of recent denials I have received:

A 19 year old one year status post traumatic brain injury had gained the ability to hold her head upright and turn her head to track conversations and people in the room. (A HUGE DEAL- imagine not being able to control where you are looking!). She also gained improved ability to consistently bear weight through her legs when transferring out of her wheelchair. (Another big deal- her mother had been lifting her. Imagine lifting your teenager any time she needed to be moved). Denied- “No functional progress.”