Hi, everyone!

Sawyer

Let me introduce myself. It seems like a reasonable thing to do here.

I'm Sawyer. I'm a college student, and for a few months I've been toying more and more with the ideas of Objectivism. And, despite my disgust when I first read the Fountainhead over a year ago, I've really started to appreciate Rand's writing and admire Roark (though I still have issues with the whole raping part.) Then I read Anthem, and now I'm working my way through Atlas Shrugged. And a few weeks ago, I worked up the courage to change my "Political Views" on Facebook to Objectivist, which was disappointingly met by people asking "what's that mean?"

For a while I've been looking for other people out there like me. But whenever I discuss an issue on my Facebook page from an Objectivist standpoint, I get bombarded with cries of "you're just being selfish!" which I readily agree to, and move on. So I started looking around online for a site like...well, a site like this one, hopefully. It would be wrong of me to say I've been looking for a site exactly like this, because I haven't been here long enough to know whether I like it or not. But I do find it infinitely more appealing than poorly designed flashy websites claiming to be "Objectivist," but demonstrating no pride in their work. I find it more consistent, so far, than ARI, which is profiting from Rand's work without adding any new insights. And of course, it's far better than the satirical (one hopes!) page titled "How to become an Objectivist in 10 easy steps!" And so, I hope I will enjoy it here.

I'm interested in science and computers, especially as we move into a future where artificial intelligence is a real possibility, and my goal is to found and run a successful robotics/AI company.

When asked what I live for, my reply is that I live to create; I bow to no man and no thing. I worship the human intellect: my prayer is thought, my temple the mind, and my god my self.

My favorite Rand quotes, so far, include: