Hello to everybody on OL!

Reason Man

Hi everybody,

I am retired (55) and invest in stocks now. I am not a philosopher by profession, but my observation of overall social situation in India (‘untouchability’, religious schisms, oppression of ladies, poverty consequent to orthodox fanaticism despite a huge pool of intelligent and open-minded people) + reading of American books (in particular Ayn Rand) etc led me to think about the effect of philosophy on human societies. But I have had no chance to air these views because of social surrounding etc. (and experience showed that reasoned arguments bring only disadvantages). Nowadays there is more openness in some social strata, and there are better minded people available, but there are a lot of barriers for me to join them because of age etc. Also, despite education, I am not Internet savvy – in fact only in 2008 I came to know that it is possible to join large groups of discussion like this one. (After seeing some Objectivist sites, I was pained to note that the small following of Objectivists is also a heavily divided community, with some groups considering each other to be bigger enemies than the erosion going on in America. I am neutral to these groups because it is not possible to go into these details. I wish to discuss ideas with people where a lot of agreement is seen.)

I have some thoughts in particular about the erosion of reason in the US, the country specifically built on reason as its foundation. Hope that my posts will be seen with interests and discussed by people.

Thanks to the administrators / owners for making such a facility available

Best Regards To Everybody

Reason Man:

Welcome to OL.

Do you reside here or India or elsewhere?

I am always interested in a married male who is seeking a female. Planning a conversion to old Mormonism or current Islam?

Adam

If he lives in India does this mean the rest of us live in Outdia?

--Brant