Hello, Ashley Here!

Ashley

Hi everyone!

My name is Ashley, and I decided to join the forum--on my real name, that is. I tentatively signed up a few days ago with a variation of my name, said to heck with it, and then signed up again with my true identity (I apologize to the moderator!). I've been reading around for a week or so, and I figured I might as well register so that I can join in talking :) .

I'm a 19 year old college student in the U.S.,and I am majoring in Health Science with a minor in Psychology. I'm most likely looking at entering a graduate program in either Behavioral Neuroscience or Clinical Psychology--but not completely sure, yet! I just know that I love learning about the relationship between mind and behavior, and I'm convinced that in a healthy human, there's an incredible amount of control by the first towards the second.

I became acquainted with Ayn Rand four years ago while reading Anthem in a High School English class. A friend gave me his copies of The Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged, but they ended up on the bookshelf until college. Last year I met my boyfriend, who encouraged me to finish Atlas. I did mostly out of sheer curiosity (I knew I liked Anthem, but even with a love of reading, Atlas looked daunting). The second time I met him, he was wearing a shirt that said "Richard Halley: School of Music" and refused to explain the meaning; he stated only that I would find out in due time what his shirt meant. Of course, I did find out, and I am quite glad I did!

The first thing that attuned me to Objectivism is that I've never bought into the popular social scene or "way of life." I don't drink, I don't party...none of the college hullaballo. And I really figure I'm not missing out. My interests include reading in bed all day, playing the flute voraciously, and drawing all the time. Oh, and I also occasionally rant about how much I love sushi.