Finally registered...

Jared Alberghini

Jared:

Welcome, really sharp forum. I suffer from procrastination also.

Adam

Hello,

I've been browsing the forum for a few months now, and I finally registered today. (I don't know what took me so long to do so)

Looking forward to meeting everyone!

- Jared

Jared. Please tell us about subjects that especially interest you.

Ba'al Chatzaf

Hello,

I've been browsing the forum for a few months now, and I finally registered today. (I don't know what took me so long to do so)

Looking forward to meeting everyone!

- Jared

Welcome to the group, Jared. Introduce yourself, tell us a little about what brings you here.

Bill P

I already said hello to Jared.

I hope we don't have an equivalent of HUAC here at OL. Somebody who asks: Are you now or have you ever been Victor Pross?

HUAC is the House UN-American Activities Committee.

GS,

I don't think we have to worry about that too much, yet. I don't want to use a heavy hand unless needed. My thing is to avoid a new hacker attack or plagiarism defilement, or even pollution of the forum by large quantities of nonsensical posts. My thing is not power.

Frankly, I consider forum patrol to be more traffic-cop stuff than power anyway, and I find the duty distasteful and time-wasting when harsh measures are needed. The best way I have found so far is to use a surgical heavy hand, not across-the-board limitations. So, for now, I prefer checking a poster's malice on a case-by-case basis.

Also, I refuse to extend a warm courtesy and welcome to those who refuse to tell me who they are and try to hide behind proxies and brand new gmail or yahoo email accounts. I used to be different, but too many imbeciles have necessitated a change in my attitude. So I have no problem at all with offending an anonymous person like that, especially when he/she shows up out of nowhere crapping on Objectivists or some other target.