Hello there!

James

Hi I'm James, I'm 22 years old and I'm from the United Kingdom. I am a student of Objectivism and I've been reading Rand's work on and off for a couple of years but I've only recently started a systematic study of Objectivism. I have read all of Rand's major fiction and I'm currently working my way through her non-fiction starting with VoS.

The reason I joined this forum is primarily to find out more about the philosophy, and also because up until now I've been predominantly exposed to 'orthodox' Oism and I want to find out a bit more about 'the dark side' as it were! :D I have a whole lot of reading to do before I take sides in the big schism though. In terms of practical help in my life I've benefited equally from Branden's "the Art of Living Consciously" and Peikoff's podcast among other things.

Anyway, I look forward to learning and contributing. :)

James:

I attended NBI back in the 60's and left when I saw aspects of the internals of the movement going down a path that I chose and choose not to walk.

There is no reason to "take sides" and would recommend remaining neutral as to the past internecine intra-philosophical wars with personality issues as a base.

This is a good group of folks here with a sense of humor and an ability to vigorously defend their positions.

I think you will find it both enlightening, instructive and just plain fun.

Welcome aboard.

Out of curiosity are you pursuing a profession or a student in the UK?

Adam

Hi I'm James, I'm 22 years old and I'm from the United Kingdom. I am a student of Objectivism and I've been reading Rand's work on and off for a couple of years but I've only recently started a systematic study of Objectivism. I have read all of Rand's major fiction and I'm currently working my way through her non-fiction starting with VoS.