Would You Please Write for Radicals for Happiness?

kiaer.ts

Radicals for Happiness began as my website devoted to happiness - with articles on the nature of happiness, on ethics and aesthetics, with sketches of the major eudaimonic and humanist schools (which includes Epicureanism, Stoicism, Spinoza, Rand, and others) as well as hosting a large section of essays and reviews by various thinkers. The site went defunct after I graduated Rutgers and lost my free hosting privileges, and had to work (:o) for a living. I will eventually get it back up on line in full form. But untill then I have to, must, and love to write, and share things of joy with other people.

My goal is not to be highbrow or lowbrow but simply to share and provide a forum for sharing. The essence of friendship is shared joy. When I meet an old friend, I don't say "Long time no see." I ask rather, "Read any good books lately?" My best friends come prepared with a list, and often we exchange gifts. It is a custom among hobbits to give gifts on one's birthday - and it is most certainly true that it is better to give than to receive. Is there something you would like to give? Is there some joy you would like to share? Would you like to be a friend?

If you would like to contribute to Radicals for Happiness, all you need to do is write five sentences or more (well, maybe not even five) about some book, event, painting, performance, movie, person, song, discovery, or anything at all which has brought you joy. Joy, for those who are not sure how to define it, is the emotional acknowledgement of value. Have you ever valued something? If so, you can contribute to Radicals for Happiness. You don't even have to wear a Che Guevara T-Shirt to join this movement! I will do the dirty work for you.