Dance, and why you might want to.

Rich Engle

I thought I'd share this with the singles in the group here.

I'm a lifelong musician. One thing I have noticed about myself and a great many musicians is that, while they are usually very in touch with rhythm, often perform, etc., the prospect of dancing is the equivalent of kryptonite to them. I was one of these people. I always admired it from a distance (usually on a bandstand, looking over a dance floor). Always loved ballroom dance movies, tango, salsa, all that.

Anyway, I have a relatively new love in my life (I get butterflies just mentioning her). She's a huge fan of Atlas Shrugged, although she knew nothing of Objectivism outside of that- she just lives it.

She happens to be an experienced dancer- ballet, tap, ballroom, and so on. Because of that, I became pretty heavily exposed to the dance community; this wasn't a big reach for me because I have a past that involves a lot of work and socializing with the arts and theater community. But, I started going to events to watch her, etc.

I had always wanted to learn, at least enough so I could look respectable at, say, wedding receptions. I have always refused to go on a dance floor (well, I did it once but it took a number of strong adult beverages). This is odd considering I don't have an ounce of stage fright in me and am constantly in front of audiences doing pretty wild things with the guitar. Go figure, that was my weak point.

One day, she brought up the idea that, since I do appreciate dance a great deal, why not have her show me some things? I'm very comfortable with her, obviously, no self-consciousness at all. So I did. We decided to focus on swing dance, since we both like the music. After a bit of this, it so happened that a swing dance class opened up very close to where I live. It was a basic class (East Coast Jitterbug style), and even though it was rudimentary for her, we took it together- something fun to do as a couple.