Old and New

jack9f

I have been a member here for some time, but not really active. Recently I started to check the message boards and found them interesting. In 1966 I read the Fountainhead and some of Ayn Rand’s other works and became an Objectivist. For 30 years I was an atheist and then I was touched by something the religious types would call “the hand of God”. Now I remain anti-dogma and still consider myself an Objectivist, but I believe in a higher being.

Since I was a member here, I was invited to join a discussion group in Lansing, MI and I have been attending meetings for about 6 months. Some of the people in this group have implied that I can not be an Objectivist and believe in God, but most have been open and willing to discuss other issues and accept my beliefs.

So I would like to ask this group: “Can an Objectivist believe in God?”

Secondly: “Does anyone know more details about Ayn Rand’s birthplace?”

I’m going to St. Petersburg in May and I would like to visit her birthplace. I'm already planning to visit the birthplace of Emanual Kant.

I will offer to question 1.

If you look at Objectivism like joining a club, you can't be other than atheist. That's how I view it officially. ARI is the official body. But, it's not a government, so it can't enforce rules.

You can, however, be a person who has studied Rand's work and integrated it into your life. If others (Orthodox types, mainly) tell you you are a hypocrite, or irrational, or evading, or whatever, you can do certain things. You can engage in discussion with them, if they are civilized enough, many are. Or, if they are attacking you, invalidating you, you can ignore them.

Heck, consider the Roman Catholic Church. I know a ton of great Roman Catholics who consistently defy official policy, most of it involving how you have sex and for why.