Noob Here

Hello, Everyone!

I started reading "Atlas Shrugged" for the first time on the weekend in August 1997 when Princess Diana of Wales was killed.  I was thirty three.  The book taught me many things and changed the way I look at life from then on, and I went on to read it many times since and to read all of Rand's other books.  I haven't been an Objectivist in every sense of the word since then and probably never will be, though much of the philosophy never leaves me and I read the books often. 

I am a working person, not an academic or a rich industrialist or "professional", if that's the word to use.  I cut sheet metal on a plasma burn table in a custom shop.  This glorious earth is mine and I belong here, creating, thinking, dreaming, enjoying.  I am a physically grounded sort, and I like it hard and dirty, down and dirty.  I love fatbiking and design my bikes and drive them everywhere I go.  Rain or shine, fine summer day or twenty three below zero Fahrenheit you will see me out there pedaling.  We get it all here in South Dakota, and everywhere is a good place for a fatbike. 

It is crazy to see all of Rand's predictions come true,  and it is likely many here knew they would.  The older among us have watched the country unravel at the seams for a long time now.  It never gets better.  Rand's predictions about the Left are startlingly accurate.  The difference between then and now is the fact that all of this seemed so far away once, but now we are living it, feeling it, experiencing it first hand.

As a survivalist, hunter, fisherman, etc., I can appreciate Rand's predictions in ways others cannot.  I knew something was dreadfully wrong in the world long before I read "Atlas Shrugged", and Rand helped to clarify all of it, to make sense of the who, what, why, when, where and how.  I took the advice in Galt's Speech and took inventory of my mind and my possessions and connected with others of like mind wherever they might be found.