prohibition to initiate violence

Arkadi

Hello, all--I'm new to Ayn Rand and this Forum, so I apologize in advance for a possible naivete of my questions:

(1) Is the ethical prohibition to initiate violence against any individual is accepted in AR's philosophy as a self -evident principle (=axiom) ? Or is it deduced from some principles that are considered more basic?

(1.a) If the latter, what are those principle and the logic by which the inference in question is made?

(2) Is any taxation whatsoever considered in AR's philosophy as a violation of the tenet indicated in (1)?

(2.a) If not, what are the exceptions?

Thanks.

Here is an interesting letter on the subject of the non initiation of force principle.

Peter

To: atlantis@wetheliving.com
Subject: Re: ATL: Did Ayn Rand discover the NIOF principle?
Date: Wed, 28 Feb 2001 14:22:09 EST

I have a definitive Rand quote to help settle the dispute summarized in the following comments:

Ellen Moore:
> It is only libertarians who want to call the Objectivist politics "Libertarianism". They want to grasp onto the Objectivist premise of "non-initiation of force" identified by Rand. They want to grasp onto her moral premise of "individual rights".

Bill Dwyer:
>Is Ellen suggesting that Rand was the first to identify the non-initiation of force principle, and that libertarians simply appropriated that principle after she discovered it? As I recall, Rand did claim that she was the first to discover the principle that rights can only be violated by the initiation of force (or fraud).

Morganis Chamlo:
>I'd be very interested in any verification (or, as some would demand: "proof") of this, Bill.

Bill Dwyer