Worst Contemporary Songs Ever Contest.

Rich Engle

Alright, I didn't even check, but I am pretty sure we have dipped into these savage waters before here on OL. My personal, selfish reasoning is that I have been far too busy to do any serious posting here (much to the relief of many), and I want to, er, "continue to contribute." Right.

It came to me when I was watching an excellent lesbo movie, "One Night In Rome." If you are a guy that loves Lesbianism, this is the movie for you. And, you can easily skip through the dialog sequences. Excellent! There is so much top-notch, artsy lesbo action in this that it just has that beauty; you keep thanking Jesus, or Zeus, or whoever for what is going down. The film keeps rolling away like that, and then, near the tail end, the beloved Shower Scene. And this is what killed it for me because one of them sang a song I utterly loathe. I am a professional musician, and I have to play anything that goes in front of me. Enough said.

Rules: None, really, because every time you think you have found the worst one ever, another one shows up. There is no end to it. I only suggest we keep it roughly, say, from the late '50's to present. You have to put some controls on the thing. Then, if anyone replies, we could tally them all up and create a giant shit-list. That's about it for how I picture the contest. There will be no winners. At first I was going to offer prizes and not send them, but I thought better of that.

So, I will start gently. The commentary should be, I imagine, funnier than the horror of the song itself.

1. Volare. This song is annoying, horrible crap, especially if you have ever had to do a club gig with, say, a Frank Sinatra wannabe. It is a pure death blow.

2. Feelings. Same as above, but greasier.

That's it, just start with two, although my music director mentioned "Lightning Strikes Again," which is a true turd, as well.

Happy Hunting,

rde

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic