An Introduction

CJoy

I'm relatively new to Objectivism, having been actively religious until about two years ago, when I had a total turn-around almost overnight. Well, it felt like overnight! Probably it was more like a few weeks. I read OPAR and VOS, dallied around on the ARI site and an Objectivism forum, and have made new friends. I announced to my family that I'm atheist, left the church I belonged to, and put my children into school after having home schooled them all their lives. I love finally having a fully integrated philosophy that isn't riddled with contradictions. Now I'm looking to expand my Objectivist horizons a little and explore objective thinking from a less orthodox perspective.

Welcome to OL Carrie:

You have made some courageous choices.

I hope your extended family is open enough to support you through your journey.

I believe you will find a solid number of folks here who will support your quest.

Since you are separated, I would be cautious as to how specific you are on any public fora.

Again, kick off your shoes and relax, OL is a very nice place to learn and laugh.

Adam

Hi Carrie,

OL is great. A lot of the philosophical conversations here are mind-blowing. And there's plenty of room for other good stuff like sports and hobbies.

"Less orthodox" is good. I started off with an 'orthodox' outlook on Objectivism, and I didn't make any progress in understanding and applying it. Now that I think about it, I'd say that some of the most beneficial experiences I've had here on OL were those which didn't involve philosophy directly. Discussing my hobbies and non-philosophical interests has done the most for my intellectual development, ironically!

Mike

Carrie,

Welcome to OL.

I don't know about expanding Objectivist horizons, but people do think for themselves around here using Objectivism as a starting point.

Lots of good people.