Why I vote democrat

Herb Sewell

I have been voting consistently Democrat for many years now. It is not so much that I admire the democrat part as I despise the republican party. If the republicans had their way we would be reduced to a pathetic theocracy. They stand for politicizing religion(particularly evangelicalism) which will ultimately destroy our country. As much as I despise the Democrat's fiscal policies I despise the Republican's social ones even more. It would be immoral to allow an even bigger threat like the republican party to come to power, this is why I don't abstain from voting. In a choice between one evil and another,even greater evil, it is always better to go with the lesser.

• Replies 137
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Ken Wilber called the democratic party an "unhealthy green" and the republican party a "healthy blue" in reference to his categories of human development. Green is hierarchically above blue and represents allowance for freedom of perspectives among people. Blue is based on having stable organizations (like Catholicism, which is considered structurally "blue").

I think his point was that democrats want to treat everyone equally, but they do so in a neurotic manner of trying to equalize income, benefits, etc. that end up cheating a lot people. Conversely, republicans actually want a solid state, an organization in which one participates and is patriotic towards.

But as MSK put it: cat shit, dog shit.

So you vote party line, and don’t consider individual candidates? Leonard Peikoff would just love you, but wait, now he’s saying everyone vote Republican. Can’t keep up…

Herb,

Would your policy prohibit you from voting for a Republican whose number one priority is repealing ObamaReidPelosiCare, or defunding the "Goddard Insitute for Space Studies" (a global warmist enclave within NASA)?

Or require you to vote for a Democrat whose number one priority is ObamaReidPelosiCare, or cap and trade?