Freud and Rand

psychoanaleesis

First off, I'm a graduate of psychology and I have come to like and play around the ideas of Dr. Freud, in the goal of improving them and discover its principles since it also applies to psychopathology. I also have come to know and love Ayn Rand's philosophy, which, I have practiced but never had the words for until of late. I am very grateful to these two person although I found that Rand is directly opposed to School of Psychoanalysis. Although not saddened nor deterred, in fact, happy that Rand has criticized Freud which in turn gave me tips, tools and corrections for my own selfish need. To sum up this paragraph, I would like my own school of thought someday.

Case: I do not like to think that we have an unconscious mind rather a subconscious one as Rand/Objectivism proposed. I agree on certain Freudian concepts but I disagree on how he applied them. His works are mainly on psychopathology and has been proven medically e.g. reptilian brain as the concrete representation of the Id. Nonetheless, the theory is incomplete and thus could not be and should not applied to the general population although I do see the need to bring those 'unconscious' conflicts to the center-stage (ego) to be processed through analysis.

I believe Freud was essentially correct but he made a mistake in some of his premises. Thoughts?

P.S. In the United States (at least) Freud's theory is supposedly debunked by the scientific community but I cannot yet find a reliable source of information that definitively states why. Any suggestions?

Welcome to Objectivist Living, David Lee.

One book is The Scientific Credibility of Freud’s Theories and Therapy by Semour Fisher and Roger P. Greenberg (Columbia 1985).

Table of Contents

1. How Can Freud’s Theory Be Sensibly Tested?

2. The Dream Theory

3. Personality Types: Oral and Anal Characters

4. Oedipal Dynamics and Consequences

5. The Origin of Homosexuality