Middle Eastern Cookery

Ruth

I was wondering if Adonis could tell me where ras el hanout is sold in Auckland NZ. Also can one buy a large tagine anywhere in Auckland?

I am a keen cook and a big fan of 'Moorish' flavours, including Claudia Roden's excellent book "Tamarind and Saffron".

Thanks.

I was wondering if Adonis could tell me where ras el hanout is sold in Auckland NZ. Also can one buy a large tagine anywhere in Auckland?

I am a keen cook and a big fan of 'Moorish' flavours, including Claudia Roden's excellent book "Tamarind and Saffron".

Thanks.

Hi Ruth!

Thank you very much for your question! To be honest I simply don't know! I will ask around though.. Unfortunately I've only been in NZ for almost 2 months so I don't really get to see these things as I'm so busy.

Thanks.

I love well performed M.E. cuisine. The M.E. folks have lamb down pat. I prefer lamb to beef. Also goat is a real treat, when done properly. I am not ready for camel however. Rashi once said the Camel is not a wild animal but it isn't a domestic animal either.

Ba'al Chatzaf

I love well performed M.E. cuisine. The M.E. folks have lamb down pat. I prefer lamb to beef. Also goat is a real treat, when done properly. I am not ready for camel however. Rashi once said the Camel is not a wild animal but it isn't a domestic animal either.

Ba'al Chatzaf

Camel is delicious.. It is very domesticated though.

Thanks for your replies - I'm still looking. Middle Eastern cuisine seems to need specific ingredients which are not too easy to get here - preserved lemon, saffron powder and so on.

I found a large tagine at the weekend - unfortunately it is not from North Africa but from France, and it is slip-cast instead of hand-made, but never mind!

I've not tasted camel - but have tasted crocodile. It has a 'muddy' taste as you would expect. Goat is popular with the pacific island communities here as well - usually curried.