On the term "Aristotelian Logic"

BaalChatzaf

I used to be a professional logician, which is to say the subject of my graduate studies was formal logic and computability. I would like to register my objection to the term "Aristotelian Logic" as is used in the context of this board.

Aristotle's logic was developed in a set of books consisting of Categories, On Interpretation, Prior and Posterior Analytics, Topics and Sophistical Refutations. Aristotle, himself, never referred to the subject matter of these books as "logic". Collectively these books constitute The Organon (or philosophical tool-kit).

The logic of inference developed by Aristotle was the logic of categorical syllogisms. This logic involves inference from premises of various form. The statement forms are: All A are B; No A is B; Some A is B, and Some A is not B. This are the only forms to which the categorical syllogistic logic applies.

In the discussions on this board, which is really being talking about is two valued logic. Logic in which propositions are either true or false. Logics of this sort might or might not be Aristotelian. For example, Intuistionistic Logic involves basic statements which are either true or false, but disjunctions do not obey the law of the exluded middle generally.

Since Aristotle, logic has undergone major expansion and development. Starting with Frege and Peirce in the 19th century, the logic of quantified propostions was developed. Boole invented a way of formalizing logic in a mathematical manner. This banner was taken up by Russell and Whitehead in their -Principia-. Afterward logic just went nuclear and has gone so far beyond what Aristotle discussed that old Mr. A. probably would not recognize his intellectual grandchildren and greatgrandchildren.