Question on Conditionalizing

Laure

I have a question for the logic experts on the forum. (I'm not an expert, but I had a symbolic logic course in college and was the top student, and I had the benefit of a high school math curriculum that emphasized proofs. As a programmer, I use boolean logic just about every day.)

In looking back at my high school math book, it describes Modus Ponens, Modus Tollens, and all that good stuff. It describes "Conditionalization": a conditional sentence follows from its consequent. So, if Q is true, P-->Q is true for any old P.

1) Is my interpretation correct, or does P have to be something that was previously used in order to derive Q?

2) My textbook gives an example that has Q as "The moon is a satellite", and two possible P's: "The moon is made of green cheese" and "The moon is not made of green cheese". It says either of the green-cheese statements can be used as P, and P-->Q is true in either case. This kind of makes sense, since we KNOW that the moon is a satellite, no matter what, so if the moon is made of green cheese, it's a satellite, and if it's not made of green cheese, it's a satellite. My question is, what about "If the moon is not a satellite, the moon is a satellite"? True statement? Is this considered a paradox, or is it just a perfectly valid, if strange, application of conditionalizing?

(This post is not trying to start an argument; I just want to learn something from the experts. I defer to Ba'al & Merlin (and maybe even Dragonfly!).)

I have a question for the logic experts on the forum. (I'm not an expert, but I had a symbolic logic course in college and was the top student, and I had the benefit of a high school math curriculum that emphasized proofs. As a programmer, I use boolean logic just about every day.)