The Hungry Artist

Victor Pross

THE HUNGRY ARTIST:

As side from being a professional visual artist, I have aspired to…um…write a novel. I say this with hesitation because it is a second hat I’m putting on at this stage of my life. However, I have written many articles about art [and other subjects] but writing a NOVEL is a different beast.

Now I did want to share a very brief and sketchy idea of The Hungry Artist’s theme and plot---and please tell me, is there any others on OL who are writing a novel?

Theme: a band of dissenting and talented artists, of various disciplines, fight for a career in an egalitarian art community where the mediocrity of postmodernism is enshrined.

Plot: The focus of the plot revolves around the story’s main protagonist, a young, idealistic painter: a representational classic painter’s fledging career is helped by a mysterious art historian--who praises abstract modern art in a popular art journal and damns classical realism. Learning that she writes under pseudonym, the painter attempts to contact the art historian writer or otherwise track down her identity—to no avail. She continues to bolster his career and yet the writer never acclaims the painter openly. But is responsible for each commission the painter secures.

Let me say it now: Yes, there's no doubt that Ayn Rand has influenced my writing, and of all her fiction works, The Fountainhead is my favorite. I’m inspired by Ayn Rand is pretty much the same way she was inspired by the works of Hugo…among others. Primarily, however, I’m inspired by my own experiences: I am a visual artist and I am deeply entrenched, for better or worse, in the whole world. After 20 years of covert observations, I decided that this story has to be told.