The true evolution of morality

kalch

Evolution of morality

http://www.thestar.com/Comment/article/593720a

I am a scientist but havent had the opportunity to read the primary reference for the news article i link to above.

Things to note:

1. University of Toronto is a world reknowned university for it's research (I'm not sure about the authors of this research)

2. The journal it is published in, Science, is in the top 3 of scientific journals to have research published in. So, the peer review process of the research would have been scrutinized by experts in the field of the area of focus of the article.

Maybe someone who has access through a university proxy server can get the actual source article?

This is what I get when I click on the Evolution of Morality link

Joseph Hall

Health Reporter

A filthy toilet bowl or foul play.

Both elicit the same, crinkle-nosed looks of disgust on our faces, according to a new University of Toronto study.

That common expression of revulsion suggests some of our moral judgments evolved alongside our distaste for physically repellent things, the study in the journal Nature suggests.

"People often think of morality as the height of human evolution. This is what our species does. It's the pinnacle of evolution and development," says Hanah Chapman, a graduate psychology student at U of T and the lead study author.

"What this research suggests is that our moral sense may be just as much guided by very simple emotional reactions as by complex thought," says Chapman, 27.

The familiar facial expression – it is caused by a contraction of the Levator labii muscle above our lips – is the best evidence yet that people actually feel the same disgust at unfair treatment as when they see, smell or taste revolting things, Chapman says.

"The capacity to feel disgust over social transgressions, that is something we would argue is evolved," she says. "We provide the best evidence for that."