Getting off oil with profits

I just saw a video on TED Lectures that blew my mind: We must win the oil endgame by Amory Lovins (19:38).

I am new to Lovins, but I must say that I was more impressed than I thought I would be. Lovins is not only interested in getting off oil, he shows how it can be done efficiently, with increased profits to the automobile manufacturing industry, with the creation of new jobs, and with just about every advantage anyone can think of, and all by 2040. The ONLY people who would suffer (if they are really stupid and do not migrate their business) would be the big oil companies. After the Middle East mess, regardless of the pro-oil rhetoric bandied about (both sincerely and otherwise), I sincerely think that most Americans are tired of the BS. They want some energy source they don't have to constantly go to war to use, and they don't want to fund terrorists and hostile social philosophies in order to drive a car.

The only thing I think that might not be palatable to Objectivists is that Lovins favors the green side of the ecology debate. However, when he presents his profit figures for business and efficiency figures and categories, I suddenly can't see where there is a rational problem anymore. Granted, some of his conclusions are probably debatable on details, but these details are measurable and in a form beyond mere opinion or speculation. His TED talk was much better that the global warming stuff I have seen. That means that for me (for now) the oil issue is partisan only. And as far as partisan goes, I don't like politics.