Chili and other Super Bowl party recipes

Kat

Tomorrow the Chicago Bears go to the Super Bowl. Does anyone have any recipes to share?

I'm making chili, but I don't really have a recipe I go by; I just usually wing it. We are not having a party or anything like that, but I'd love to make enough for leftovers like chili-mac or chili dogs later.

Kat

Well, since Mick didn't come to my rescue with a good guy recipe on this one, I guess I will have to wing it again. I looked through a few online recipes, but none seem to be my kind of chili recipe. Some have ingredients I don't want. I just use regular ground beef and cook with olive oil (not animal fat, although it appears in a lot of "championship" recipes, it makes them unappetizing to me). I also don't want beer or sugar in my chili and too much heat or my kids won't eat it. I'm not an expert on chilis or hot sauces so I just use chili powder and stuff. If you generally put a little [brown] sugar in your chili, try a teaspoon of honey instead. I know Cincinnati chili is sweet and has cinnamon and stuff in it, and I also saw a recipe where they added cocoa to the mix... that could be interesting....but not for Bears Super Bowl Sunday.

I also read something interesting about cooking chili. It said that if you cook it and then let it cool and reheat it, the beans will absorb more of the flavor. Maybe that's why I like the leftovers so much. I'm kinda missing my big ugly harvest gold crockpot about now. Anyway, any chili recipe tips are welcome.

My problem with writing down a recipe like this is that I rarely measure my seasonings and I season throughout the cooking process. I also tend to cheat sometimes and use chili seasoning mix, but I don't want to do that on the day the Bears play the Super Bowl.