TED talk: Everything you think you know about addiction is wrong

jts

6 hours ago, jts said:

I have no major experience with addiction and no comment about this video.

This is a comment....   But you knew that, didn't you?

• 2 weeks later...
On 10/16/2016 at 10:18 PM, jts said:

I have no major experience with addiction and no comment about this video.

What is this guy selling?

If you don't get your heroin you go get it even if you have to steal for it--or worse. If you don't get your methadone you'll get even sicker than if you don't get your heroin. 20% of US soldiers in Vietnam used heroin and 95% weren't subsequently addicted? No references, just blab, blab, blab. And it's not "chemical hooks"--which he tries incessantly to deride, but the displacement by heroin of what the body provides naturally. The withdrawal period is the time the body needs to get that back on line. (Be careful if you're diagnosed with adult onset diabetes and start shooting up insulin. The pancreas may totally and permanently shut down.)

We are all addicted to food. Try not eating for two days and get a small sense of what I am talking about. (Fasters--this is not for you.) I understand the hunger pains go into remission after a few days, but that's beyond my personal experience.

--Brant

edit: he's disreputable

1 hour ago, Brant Gaede said:

What is this guy selling?

Brant,

He's selling group hugs as a cure for addiction.

He's not wrong up to a point and his thoughts should be looked at by people interested in addiction, but man does big pharma love him. 

People addicted to big pharma stuff (like Oxytocin, a form of legal heroin on steroids) are just like normal junkies. And all you need to do is give them a group hug and keep them hooked while telling them they are not.

This is a drug pusher's dream of heaven on earth.

:) 

If anyone wants to see what really goes on in your brain at the cell and synapses level, there is an excellent course on The Great Courses: