Government, Industry, Venn Diagrams

jts

Here is how government regulates cooperates with industry. Or how industry regulates government. Or whatever the 773H is happening. Isn't there supposed to be total separation between government and industry?

Government vs and Industry

Click on the picture to make it larger.

http://i.imgur.com/PVpFY.jpg

Everything King Midas touched turned into gold.

Everything government touches turns into shit.

Thanks, jts! Nice of you to provide that.

It is famous that Enron's Kenneth Lay was undersecretary of Department of the Interior in the Nixon administration.

I think that the best explanation is found in The Invention of Enterprise (Landes and Mokyr, editors). In any time and place, active and ambitious people will use whatever institutions are available. In Rome (as in our time - though not exclusively), that was conquest, rent-farming, and slavery. When it happened that a man made money by trade, he adopted the lifestyle of a landed noble and turned his business over to his slaves for management.

As for our time, it is significant that these intersecting sets are not growth industries or innovative enterprises, but retreating and moribund. Vanity Fair is a pretty magazine and has published many informative investigations over the years. But the future is with Twitter. The Encyclopedia Britannica announced on March 13, 2012, that it will stop publishing via print.

Obviously there are persons in government positions of power that do unethical things and play favorites, but I don't believe there shouldn't be such Venn diagrams. Do you want a regulator who is ignorant about what he/she regulates?

There it is: Crony Capitalism. The aristocracy of pull.

Ba'al Chatzaf

Also, The Power Elite.

C. Wright Mills' schema had a certain leftist tint to it, but he was spot on accurate.

"
Charles Wright Mills
(August 28, 1916 – March 20, 1962) was an
American
sociologist