Eric Whitacre: A choir 2000 voices strong.

Rich Engle

This is quite the thing:

Virtual Choir

Rich:

Thank you. That is a demonstration of pure beauty.

The Global Village is in our hands. It is also Marshal McLuhan's 100th Anniversary...perfect!

Adam

Beautiful Rich, thanks.

At you-know-where today a soprano from the Canadian Opera Company sang Handel's "I know that my redeemer liveth." The marrow of my bones is still pulsating.

Our choir did quite a few today, including Chopin's Prelude, Op. 28, No. 20 --an arrangement for choir, piano, and electronic keyboard (I got that job, even though I am primarily a guitarist.

Then we turned the choir around and did Randy Newman's "You've Got A Friend In Me" (the "Toy Story") theme song. That one included accordion, an Akai breath controller doing tuba parts, a young girl playing piccolo, percussion, and yours truly handling ukulele parts (I learned how to play ukulele for it yesterday). After that some standard hymn faire, and the traditional spiritual "Wade In The Water."

We also had our friend Kat Epple (she's a grammy winning flutist) play a flute/piano duet with our director Chuck Grinnell. It was a very odd, large flute, I forget what you call them.

It was a busy day!

Rich, thanks! I passed it along to others. Myself, I am not a fan of the human voice as an instrument, but these are superlative. I am in awe. Thank you for the moments of enlightenment.

Not to mix media and messages but

(1) I was surprised at the people recording in their bedrooms, rather than studios.

and

(2) I was amazed by the video rendering software in "Sleep."

Michael

Rich, thanks! I passed it along to others. Myself, I am not a fan of the human voice as an instrument, but these are superlative. I am in awe. Thank you for the moments of enlightenment.

(1) I was surprised at the people recording in their bedrooms, rather than studios.

and

Michael

Yup, those two aspects definitely tripped my triggers as well.