The Psychology of Religiosity

Blake

I am completely new to the whole Objectivist cyber-world, not to mention blogging in general, so bear with me.

After scanning through an earlier post in this forum, I came to a realization; at least it was new to me. The post was discussing how our conscious interpretations of our actions may or may not align with our "objective" or true motives.

Anyhow, what I noticed was this: religious people, by virtue of their professed beliefs, are acting upon self-interest, (which is what their religions claim as an evil).

They are doing exactly what Objectivists preach when we speak of self-interest. One thing that must first be understood is the fact that they actually BELIEVE they will achieve eternal life in heaven. They VALUE eternal life in heaven more than life on Earth. They are trading value for higher value. That value is above all other values. In ethics, their actions align with Objectivism, though clearly not epistemologically speaking.

Unfortunately, their higher value is founded on logical incoherence and driven by faith. Also driven by an apparent dissatisfaction with their present lives, for whatever reason. Values presuppose life, and the presence of alternatives. The only alternatives they take into account are heaven and hell.. A priest isn’t a selfless preacher of the Gospel. He wouldn't do it if he did not BELIEVE that upon entering the gates, he will somehow hold more esteem then his followers. I don’t know, maybe he can cut to the front of the line at Club Angel, god only knows.

What do you guys think about this?

Blake:

Welcome to OL.

This is the argument I have always made with the "witch doctors," as Ayn tagged the mystics. The are rabidly pursuing the path that gives them pleasure by fulfilling their own selfish desires to "help others," or, be one with their God.

Good observations.

Are you a student, or a worker slave for the state?

Musician?

What brought you to Rand?

Adam