energy storage devices

jts

By 'energy storage devices' I include batteries and supercapacitors and anything else that stores energy, especially energy that can put out electricity. Currently there is a bunch of stuff happening in the energy storage business. Energy storage devices are relevant to cars (which use a battery), electric cars, mobility scooters, computer battery backups, and anything that uses portable energy. It is relevant to alternative energy sources such as wind, solar, ocean tides, ocean waves, I'm not an expert. I will merely give a non-expert bird's eye view of some of the stuff that is happening.

Lithium Iron Phosphate Battery:   "Lead is dead."   It is said the lead acid battery is obsolete and is due for a replacement. The replacement that is proposed is the lithium iron phosphate battery, also known as the LFP battery. This is about 3.5 times the price but lasts about 10 to 20 years instead of 3 to 5 years for the lead acid battery. It stores better than the lead acid battery. The lead acid battery is supposed to be charged at least once a week tp prevent or minimize deterioration. The LFP battery has a flat voltage profile, which means it maintains good voltage until near the end and then the voltage drops with little warning. The lead acid battery has a curved voltage profile, which means it gives plenty of warning. Which is better? For your computer backup I imagine the flat voltage profile is better. For a mobility scooter or electric car, you could be far from home and suddenly the voltage drops; the curved profile is better.

Sodium Iron Phosphate Battery:   This is cheaper than the LFP because sodium is cheaper than lithium. The problem seems to be the size of the sodium atom, bigger than the lithium atom. If they can overcome this problem, they will have a cheaper alternative to the LFP battery.