No Family Casualties Over Politics--Not Over Turkey and Gravy

No Family Casualties Over Politics--Not Over Turkey and Gravy

Here comes Thanksgiving and I am going to have to face some family members who disagree with me on politics. 

I do want to correct their obviously misguided judgments, brainwashed perceptions and lack of intelligence, but I'm also interested in the turkey and gravy. Self-righteous rages have never worked well for my digestion.

With this in mind, I was bopping around the Internet looking at stuff by a guy named Ira Glass. He works for National Public Radio and is about as progressive as they come. In fact, when I listen to him, I can't stand some of his views so much my teeth start grating. The acid rises in the back of my throat.

So why do I listen? Because I am studying story and this guy knows the components of storytelling down cold. He would never admit this, but he is a genie at taking a lousy story about a perfect nobody and making it good. I figure, if he can do that with common folks, what if I find out what is behind what he does and apply it to characters I look up to? So I grit my teeth and extract the gold.

As I was meandering around Google looking for more Ira Glass stuff, I came across an item that caught my eye. One lady at NPR, Andrea Seabrook, left that institution and went out on her own because she was tired of being lied to by politicians.

Huh... She couldn't stomach it? What could that be about?

I tried to look, but to be honest, I don't know yet. Right at the start I stumbled across her most recent podcast called Politics around the Turkey. I listened to it and knew I had to write this post before looking further.

I expected to hate it, imagining the theme would be something like how to convince your dumbass conservative family members about climate change or how to preach the blessings of Obamacare or whatever. Instead, I was delighted by the show.