Duance Lynam and the Redshirt

syrakusos

We all know that when the Good Guys rescued John Galt, Dagny shot a soldier who could not make up his mind. The other Good Guys all over-powered or just wounded their targets. So, Dagny's action stands out. We have a problem with cold-blooded killing. They had quite a little discussion about metaphysics, epistemology, and ethics. Nothing was in the heat of passion. Daunce pressed me for my appraisal, given that I work as a security guard.

As a security guard, I found Redshirts by John Scalzi (Tom Doherty Association, 2012), at once intriguing, humorous, insightful, and disappointing. Marketed in book format, the story is a novella typeset with extra leading, and to which is appended another story in another format. The thesis is obvious from the title. If you know the Star Trek universe, then you have seen the expendable, disposable security force on the away teams. The redshirts die to tell the audience that the main characters are in danger.

Scalzi’s work is at once a parody and a tribute. Just as Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey is a Gothic novel about a girl deluded by Gothic novels, so, too, does Redshirts incorporate all the important elements of classic Star Trek.

Redshirts: Expendable in Fiction and Fact on my blog here.

The guard should not have allowed himself to be snuck up on. He should have been alert and he should have challenged Dagny.

Guard: "Halt! Who goes there?"

Dagny: "Dagny Taggart here to rescue John Galt."

Guard; "Come forward and be recognized."

Dagny: "Stick 'em up!"

Guard " Drop your weapon."

Bang... Bang...

But I did not write the story. Someone else did. So we have to go with the universe we were given. ... Unless we can slingshot around the sun, go back in time, and alter history...

Myself, I have never carried a weapon on duty. I use Jedi Mind Tricks.

The guard should not have allowed himself to be snuck up on. He should have been alert and he should have challenged Dagny.