Update... and a rquest for temporary help...

pbmaltzman

Ii am going to go ahead and apologize for asking for help. This is embarrassing for me, actually kind of shameful.

As I think I've already posted, we moved from the high desert of Lancaster, California to the high desert of Kingman, Arizona back at the end of May 2013.

We brought our medical transcription jobs with us. I had been working for the same Armenian boss for over 16-1/2 years, and currently have over 20 years of eperience in this field. Sam has about a third of my experience in terms of number of years, but has developed into a very good MT after having taken an online course.

Well, long story short... I got abruptly terminated back in October. I had assumed that as long as I did my job well, I'd keep having a job to do; apparently the boss had other ideas. I actually have REALLY good skills and I still type fast (up to 156 words per minute on regular text). And I'm literate (won spelling bees as a kid)! I have reference books, and am not too proud to use them.

I have been looking for jobs ever since then, applying for other transcription jobs online as well as local jobs. Nothing has turned up yet. I have decided to apply for unemployment compensation here (probably tomorrow), even though I am not 100% sure that I am eligible for it. I am also going to get whatever free food is available (as from food banks and other organizations, even the Salvation Army if available). I may even apply for the dreaded food stamps. BTW, I'm not looking to eat steak and lobster here; but at least some eggs, chicken, and tuna fish.

I have been to the One-Stop Career Center locally (part of the so-called Department of Economic Security). The bureaucrats there were actually kind of nice. Yes, I know that in a better world this would not be necessary or desirable, and I completely agree.

I was lucky enough to be given some donations and small loans a couple of months ago by several friends.