Objectivism and Children

CSpeciale

I'm still learning the philosophy of objectivism--i'm currently halfway through AS--and i've got a question that maybe someone here can answer.

It seems like objectivism leaves no justification, no standards, no room for children. The prime movers in AS display a high level of resistance against authority, but in my eyes: they can AFFORD to go to jail, to be shot, to be robbed of their mind or spirit. For children, they are still developing the person they want themselves to become, learning the skills necessary to survive. And when threatned to have the sources that allow them to develop removed--schools, parents, etc.--they have no choice BUT to give in to authority, for they need those sources to continue their quest towards Individualism.

So my question is: am i looking at this the wrong way? Or does objectivism leave out a huge chunk of ethics for children?

• Replies 187
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Chris:

ND has a great sense of humor...

However, your observation about children and Objectivism is dead right on point. The absence of children to any great degree in Ayn's work is glaring.

There is one small reference to motherhood and children at one point later in Atlas. I will not quote the section as I do not want to effect the plot.

According to Heller and Burns, Ayn had an abortion in the 1930's. Both Heller and Burns make reference to her unhappy childhood which included some pitifully poor parenting by her mother.

When I first read Atlas, I was just as struck by the absence of children as you are.

Children would certainly be a burden for her hero's and heroines and none of the main ones have any children.

Great observation.

Adam