Should I join my college's Libertarian club?

Evan

I am a rising college freshman at a large, well-respected public university. There is a group called Young Americans for Liberty, the "leading advocates for social and economic freedom and individual liberty on campus." As of now, I am planning on joining this group and seeing how it goes. Do you think it is moral for an Objectivist to join a Libertarian organization? I know dealing with Libertarian organizations is a highly-debated topic within Objectivism, and I would like to hear any opinions on this issue. I would love to join the organization, but am worried it could conflict too much with some of my beliefs. Thanks!

Go for it.

They aren't Objectivists (or maybe they are), so you'll likely butt heads with some (or all) of them. This will give you plenty of opportunity to sharpen your own ideas and mind. You may even form a few alliances along the way.

Is there any price of admission? Keg stands?

I am a rising college freshman at a large, well-respected public university. There is a group called Young Americans for Liberty, the "leading advocates for social and economic freedom and individual liberty on campus." As of now, I am planning on joining this group and seeing how it goes. Do you think it is moral for an Objectivist to join a Libertarian organization? I know dealing with Libertarian organizations is a highly-debated topic within Objectivism, and I would like to hear any opinions on this issue. I would love to join the organization, but am worried it could conflict too much with some of my beliefs. Thanks!

Push the "Think" button.

--Brant

Push the "Think" button.

--Brant

Brant's suggestion is actually the moral thing to do.

But I suppose that's an evasive platitude worthy of any politician,so I'll answer ever so slightly lesa cryptically: