Objectivism and Stoicism

PDS

I would like to start a discussion of this topic.

I have been reading a number of Stoic classics of late, and even labored through Wolfe's A Man in Full, which is enough to make anybody indifferent about death, or at least willing to contemplate suicide. :laugh:

I suspect some of OL's posters would find a lot to agree with when it comes to Stoicism. Any thoughts?

I studied the stoics at university (have forgotten most) and my impression is of a human sublimity that does not become zen (not that I studied that at all).

The influence of stoicism on English literature and upper-class culture was strong. "If" by Kipling was I believe read at Rand's funeral. |She never achieved all the characteristics RK prescribed for his son, especially the part about making allowances for your doubters)

"Excelsior" exemplifies it in a Romantic way. And my particular like, Housman, explored stoicism in a bitter, brilliant way imo.

And the inarticulate products of the traditional classical education died stoically in WWI, two thousand years after Horatius at the Bridge.

I will be interested in seeing commentary by those who have compared the philosophies.

PS you could certainly call John Galt, the ultimate Rand ideal, stoical in the popular sense. He apparently abstained from sex for most of his adulthood and serenely withstood torture, all in support of his highest values.

PS you could certainly call John Galt, the ultimate Rand ideal, stoical in the popular sense. He apparently abstained from sex for most of his adulthood and serenely withstood torture, all in support of his highest values.

Keep in mind that true Stoics are not necessarily stoic, in the sense that the term is used nowadays.

I do, that is why I said "popular". Intend to refresh my knowledge on this, and likely revel in some more AEH who was a fine classicist.

I have been planning to read some AEH independent of your comments about his Stoic connection.